Kitty

KItty

Kids are glorious. When my eldest was about two and a half and  at that stage of being in charge she was in the kitchen bossing  me. My middle child was busy watching the washing spin and my youngest was asleep in the pram.

The washing-up needed doing and I gave the eldest a duster so she could clean things which were at her height, the only thing within her reach was the cat table which the Kitty sat on and fed from. I had switched from wet food to dry food at the Vets suggestion, they were called ‘Omega Cat Shapes’ and came in a variety of sizes, mostly circular with central holes, in shades of green, pink and brown. Cats are colour blind so I didn’t really understand the necessity for colour. I think the cat minded the exchange though because she kept bringing in  Koi Carp through the cat flap and depositing them at the foot of her table. What do you do in that situation? You can hardly go to the neighbour and say,

“Oi, do you want your  really expensive fish back sorry that it’s dead and has no eyes.”

Besides which I didn’t know which neighbour it was, although I did  have my suspicions as a  few gardens down  a large grey plastic heron  had been erected, but it didn’t deter Kitty. Eventually either a net was placed over the pond or the fish learnt to hide forcing  Kitty to swap Koi Carp for another neighbour’s pork chops.

“Mummy, I needs biscuits for my tummy”

I wasn’t really paying too much attention and I must confess to saying

“Yes Blossom in a minute”

Seconds later she was sitting on the floor making slurping and munching noises. I turned round and she said,

“Mummy these biscuits are  nice, they taste of fish”

Her sister had joined her but she wasn’t convinced.

I retrieved the biscuits from them and went through the process of explaining about cat germs and that cat biscuits should not be eaten again they were for Kitty. It worked.

A few days later my husband was eating breakfast in the kitchen.

Bossy Blossom came running to tell me

“Mummy you need to tell Daddy not to eat the cat biscuits, he is eating them with Milk”

A free sample of ‘Cheerios’  breakfast cereal had been posted through the letter box and he was trying them out.

After that we stuck to Weetabix and porridge and swapped ‘Omega  Cat Shapes’ to ‘Go Cat’ and moved house.

About Calmer Karma

I have moved into the early afternoon of my life. Mostly now I think I am old enough either to know better or to try it at least once and more if I like it.

One response »

  1. Sharmishtha says:

    ha ha. amazing how things happen sometimes 🙂

Leave a comment